Dutdutan Trese (13) – Tattoo, Music, Women, Lots of Women

It’s the 13th year of Dutdutan Tattoo Convention in the Philippines and this was my first attendance. I’m not quite sure why I haven’t been in any of their events before. Probably because their tickets were expensive back in college when I still have a lot of energy but my allowance couldn’t keep up. It was actually different than my expectations, or maybe they’ve just evolved in the past years. I mean, sure there are tattoo booths and stuff, but it wasn’t like Pulp Summer Slam with Tattoo artists.

Anyway, if it wasn’t for my brother who’s currently staying with me for a month long vacation, I wouldn’t spend my Saturday night in a the event since I’m not particularly fond of tattoos and the only ink I’ve had in my body are those non permanent stuff in my hand and fingertips everytime there’s a boring lecture that I needed to attend. But I’m really glad I did. It was amazing. It was my brother’s first time in such huge event and it’s nice to witness him having a blast. He’s just a little disappointed because I didn’t allow him to get a tat. I said I can only allow a tat that looks like a mole. Lol. I don’t think he’s that interested in having another mole.

We arrived during the second day of the convention. Their program includes Drum Duel, performance of various local bands and POD, tattoo competition (front and back, realistic, female, portrait categories), and FHM bikini contests. It was indeed a paradise for heterosexual males, including my brother.

Anyway, I think the organizers kind of crossed the line in oversexualizing women, I’m just not in the position to judge where the line was supposed to be drawn. One minute, you’re watching two boys playing drums and then another minute there’s a fake shower room set up on stage with two (almost) naked women getting wet in slow movement while demonstrating sexual positions and finally ended up kissing before the curtains closed.

Personally, from a heterosexual woman’s point of view, I think that segment is nothing more than an artistic expression (the pole dancing was superb). They set the stage, set the mood, played sensual music and performed, like an on stage erotic film. It was a bit uncomfortable but I’m aware that I’m not the target audience and my rationality doesn’t seem to have a problem with it so it’s ok, there’s no way I’m gonna spoil the fun, even for my underage brother.

There’s one thing that I have a serious problem with though. A portion of the FHM bikini contest. And no, it’s not about the girls flaunting their assets and being (almost) completely naked infront of thousands of people. It’s their choice, I assume they have consent to do that, they have the right to. It was actually entertaining, until the Q&A, when the men hosts started to unleash their male dominance hormones and treated the women like they were nothing more than sex objects who will obey their commands and satisfy their sexual and egoistic needs.

It was unbearable. They asked the women, dumb questions which will intentionally lead them to provide dumber answers with sexual reference/action. “Show us how you hold the microphone”, “Are you quiet or loud in bed?”, “If someone were to touch you to prove that you’re sexy, which part would you want to be touched?”.  I’m not sure but I think some of the contestants were uncomfortable but they don’t have a choice but to go with the flow. They talked about wit but they actually never gave the girls a chance to showcase their intellect so at the end of the day, the contest ended, winners were given trophies, and all the babes are beauties and nothing else, like the pretty dumb blondes stereotypes, except they aren’t blondes.

But overall the ticket price was worth it. The music performances were great, the POD set was awesome and nostalgic and it was a fantastic experience to bring one of my younger brothers in a gig for the first time. I hope I can bring the three of them in another huge event next year. Anyway, thanks for reading up to this line.

Leave a comment